History of Earth Day ~ Local Food & Juicing

Earth Day was the brainchild of Senator Gaylord Nelson. Senator Nelson pitched the idea of Earth Day to President John Kennedy in the early 1960’s. President Kennedy liked the idea and embarked on a 5-day, 11-state tour with Nelson in September of 1963, but the idea didn’t gain national attention. Senator Nelson didn’t give up, and wrote about the journey that eventually culminated in the first big Earth Day in 1970.

Before I continue, there are a few things you should know about me:

I recycle, take canvas bags or bags made of recycled materials when I shop (even to Macy’s), buy food produced locally, organically, humanely when I can.

I am a carnivore, think Al Gore is a money-grubbing hypocrite, shake my head at those who think the science is settled. I don’t own a pair of Birkenstock shoes. I don’t drive a hybrid.

Anyway … I am also a big supporter of buying food locally. I like spending my food budget buying from local, family, organic farms. I live in a climate that makes it pretty easy. Think you can’t do that because of your climate? Think Again!

I went to the Santa Monica Farmer’s Market yesterday. Bought: beets, carrots, blood oranges, purple asparagus, spinach, arugula, herbs. Total cost? About $15. Supported local, family farms. Did not contribute to “man-made global warming” in buying produce flown in from another country.

Roasted the purple asparagus last night. Served it with lamb and a salad made from the greens I bought yesterday.

Today, I fired up the juicer and used some of the beets, oranges, and carrots. Here’s a link for you about juicing.

BEET, ORANGE & CARROT JUICE:
2 beets, washed & tops removed
2 oranges, peeled
4 carrots, washed

Fire up the juicer, put everything in, and enjoy.

EAT YOUR HISTORY (in this case, drink your history)