Homeschool to UC Berkeley ~ Update ~ How We Did It

Took my son to Berkeley for orientation on July 8.  It was the most incredible day I’ve experienced in a long time.  We started at 7:30 AM and ended at 6:30 PM.   As homeschoolers, my son and I both went in feeling a little intimidated.  By the end of the day, it was drilled into our heads … if you didn’t deserve to be here, you wouldn’t be here.

There have been a lot of challenges getting from homeschooling to this University.  The first big hurdle was getting over being afraid when I took my son out of public school.  The second big hurdle was giving up a lot of income and making sure I was educating my son properly.  The third big hurdle was forcing Santa Monica College to accept the diploma and transcript my private R-4 California school issued.  (Yes, I had to force them.  Hired an attorney who homeschools his own children.  After one phone call, they shut up and enrolled my son.  He did it for free.)  YES!

Getting into Berkeley was a piece of cake after those were accomplished.  My son had a 3.86 GPA from Santa Monica College, has never been in trouble, and wrote an introductory letter that hit it out of the ballpark.  No, we didn’t go to classes about how to write the letter.  We didn’t hire someone to write the letter for him.  He just poured his heart out about his life and his goals.  He was himself.

At orientation, they told we parents the first two most important things about transferring to Berkeley:  #1 is the college GPA.  #2 is the student’s introductory letter.

If any of you homeschooling parents want more specific detail about how we got here, just let me know.  I’ll be happy to share all the experience & knowledge I have.

GO BEARS!

2 Responses

  1. Very encouraging to read about your journey. I would love more detail about what is involved. My son is 16, homeschooled, finished his credits last year and is currently taking classes at El Camino Junior College. I would love advice from some one who has already paved the way.

    Deborah
    mermaidspurse@att.net

  2. How did you fill out the academic section of the application? leaving grade 9 and 11 blank? as there are no official exams taken then
    and what was your son’s sat score?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

